Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Surprise

Reeses-Peanut-Butter-Cup-Surprises-IMG_0288

Let me start out by saying that I borrowed this picture from the blog Can’t Stay Out Of the Kitchen, which is also where I got the recipe, because I didn’t get a picture of my own finished product.

I stumbled across the recipe when I was trying to find a dessert to take to a family reunion a few weeks ago. This side of the family is particularly known for their good cooking, so I was aiming for something simple that looked slightly complex with a low probability of failure (I, unfortunately, didn’t inherit the cooking gene). This was a long forgotten pin on my “Foods That Look Yummy But I’ll Probably Never Attempt Them” board but I do love Reese’s cups, so I thought I would give it a try. Surprisingly, this is a pretty simple recipe and, if I do say so myself, turned out tremendously! It’s like a giant chocolate chip cookie ate a bunch of Reese’s cups! What could be better?!?

My Ingredients

  • 2 sticks butter (softened) (as you can see, I was out of stick butter)
  • 1 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (I was only able to use about 1 tsp because I was out but it didn’t seem to make a difference)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 12 oz bag Hershey’s semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used mini chips but I think I’ll use half as much next time. This just depends on how much sweetness you like)
  • 24 Reese’s peanut butter cups

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

  First, mix all of your yummy ingredients into cookie dough using a whisk or mixer. Wait until everything is mixed then add your flour and chocolate chips in and mix with a wooden spoon. The dish I used was a 9×13, which will makes the 24 Reese’s cups fit perfectly. Be sure to spray your dish with cooking spray.

Separate your cookie dough in two, and spread one half across the bottom of the dish.

  Next, unwrap your Reese’s cups and place them on top of the cookie dough.

Use the remaining cookie dough to cover the Reese’s cups. (This step did prove harder than it sounds because at that point, the cookie dough is falling in between the cups. Good luck with that!)

Bake for about 35 minutes or until golden brown. So easy, even the cooking-impaired can do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

