Pulled Pork from Crockpot Porkchops

I found this recipe on Pinterest and decided to try it. I am not what you would call a “good” cook but my husband isn’t starving either. This actually turned out to be a pretty neat thing and super easy. The original instructions read as follows (courtesy of http://southwinstonlane.blogspot.com/2012/03/easy-bbq-pork.html):

Ingredients: 
6 boneless center cut chops
1/2 cup water
Spices-I used a southwestern spice mix and fresh ground black pepper on the chops before putting them in the slow cooker 
Sliced onions
~Half bottle BBQ sauce of choice 

Instructions:
Pour water and some BBQ sauce into slow cooker, stir well. 
Place one layer of chops inside slow cooker. Mine allowed for three across. 
Put some sauce and onions on top of first layer, then add another layer of chops followed by more onions and sauce. I set mine to cook on low for 7 hours. 

At the end of the 7 hours, use a slotted spoon and transfer half of the cooked chops into the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a flat beater. Mix on low until the pork is shredded to the level you want. Transfer shredded pork into another bowl and shred the remaining chops.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. Instead, I only used 4 boneless pork chops and Kraft Originial BBQ sauce. I did cook it for 7 hours and used a little seasoning salt instead of a spice mix. I’m not sure if it was the amount of pork chops or the difference of crockpots, but my pork ended up burning a little and tasted pretty dry. I definitely recommend fewer hours for this amount of pork chops and a close eye after hour 4. Also, I am going to try a spicier BBQ sauce and different spices next time to give it an extra kick. As far as tenderness, the chops pretty much fell apart when we got them out of the crockpot. So, although it wasn’t perfect, overall, I deem it a successful attempt.

One thought on “Pulled Pork from Crockpot Porkchops

Leave a Reply

