The New World of Fitness

I will have to say, I was pretty skeptical when my best friend suggested we try a Zumba class. But finally, after hearing the rave reviews and a generous amount of coaxing from my friend, I found myself agreeing to “give it a try.” I, for one, am not a morning person and getting up at 7:30 am to exercise was not on my bucket list  but, alas, there I was. The music started and the entire room filled with an indescribable energy. Of course, the first few times I went, I was totally overwhelmed (not to mention, I am a terrible dancer). But after a while, the moves start clicking and before I knew it, I found myself actually looking forward to getting up on Wednesday morning for my Zumba class.

One uniques aspect that Zumba has to offer is the music. They pull from heart-pounding Latin hits to today’s favorite top songs. I think that’s part of what makes it fun. Who doesn’t feel like dancing when you hear Shakira playing?

It may sound cliche but, I can honestly say that Zumba has changed my life, at least my exercise life. Not only do I attend a weekly class at my local rec. center but I also purchased an Xbox Kinect Zumba Fitness game. I have never been great at sticking to a regular exercise schedule but I don’t really feel like I’m working out when I am doing Zumba. It’s more like I get to dance around for an hour, all while feeling more energetic and staying in shape. I definitely encourage everyone to find a Zumba fitness class near you. I promise you will be addicted before the second song is over.

One thought on “The New World of Fitness

Leave a Reply

